Order of New Zealand members, 1990

Order of New Zealand members, 1990

This group photograph of members of the Order of New Zealand with Queen Elizabeth II was taken on 14 February 1990. The Order of New Zealand had been established in 1987.

Back row from left: Marie Shroff (Cabinet Secretary), Janet Frame (author), Henry Lang (former Secretary to the Treasury), Emeritus Professor Richard Matthews (cellular and molecular biologist), Fred Turnovsky (Manufacturers Federation), Rev Manu Bennett (Bishop of Aotearoa), Allen Curnow (poet), Arthur Lydiard (athletics coach).

Front row from left: Jim Knox (Federation of Labour), Sir Edmund Hillary, Dr Clarence Beeby (educationalist), Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Te Arikinui Dame Te Atairangikaahu (the Maori Queen), Sonja Davies (Member of Parliament for Pencarrow), Lady Blundell.

Community contributions

No comments have been posted about Order of New Zealand members, 1990

What do you know?