Naming the country and the main islands map


This map shows the place names Māori and Europeans have assigned to Aotearoa New Zealand as a country, its main islands, and the surrounding seas.

The names in bold are existing place names, with historic names listed below them.

Country names

Aotearoa | New Zealand

  • Staten Landt
  • Nova Zeelandia
  • Nu Tīrene

Island names

Te Ika-a-Māui | North Island

  • New Ulster

Te Waipounamu | Te Waka a Māui | Te Waka o Aoraki | South Island

  • New Munster
  • Middle Island

Rakiura | Stewart Island

  • South Island
  • New Leinster

Rēkohu | Wharekauri | Chatham Island

Rangihaute | Rangiāuria | Pitt Island

Sea names

Te Tai o Rēhua | Tasman Sea

Te Moana-nui-a-Kiwa | Pacific Ocean

For more information see the place names entry on Te Ara The Encyclopedia of New Zealand 


Community contributions

No comments have been posted about Naming the country and the main islands map

What do you know?