Skip to main content

Asian Cup, 1975

Sixteen members of a football team, all women, standing and crouching in two rows, plus one man. The women are all wearing white trouser suits. In front of them are two silvers cups decorated with ribbons.

The New Zealand Women’s Football Association was formed in 1975. The association sent a team – the first national women’s football team – to compete in the Asian Ladies’ Football Confederation Cup in Hong Kong in the same year.

The team unexpectedly won the tournament by defeating Hong Kong, Malaysia, Australia and Thailand, claiming an international trophy at their first attempt.

The team was captained by Barbara Cox, seen here standing next to coach Dave Farrington. The vice-captain was Marilyn Marshall, standing fourth from right. Here the team is lined up after the tournament with their trophies.

How to cite this page

Asian Cup, 1975, URL:, (Manatū Taonga — Ministry for Culture and Heritage), updated