Skip to main content

Colombo Plan conference, 1956


International delegates at a Colombo Plan conference inside Parliament House in Wellington, November 1956.

The Colombo Plan for Co-operative Economic Development in South and South-East Asia was launched in 1950. It was intended to help combat the spread of communism by encouraging ecomomic and social development within poorer Asian countries. The original seven members – Australia, Britain, Canada, Ceylon (later Sri Lanka), India, New Zealand and Pakistan – were later joined by 19 other countries.


Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: 1/2-177157-F
Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Matauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any reuse of this image.

How to cite this page

Colombo Plan conference, 1956, URL:, (Manatū Taonga — Ministry for Culture and Heritage), updated