East Coast rugby team, 1933-34

East Coast rugby team, 1933-34

The East Coast representative rugby team, 1933-34.

Back row: unknown, Joe Oats (coach)
Second row: R. Crawford, D. Tuhoro, P. Goldsmith, C. Cheslie, B. Pahuru, T. Lincoln, H. Amaru
Front row: A. Kirk (manager), H.K. Morete, T. Lincoln, T. Wirepa, G. Reedy, K. McClutchie, J. Lockwood, C. Ryland
Sitting: H. Atkins, J. Kouka, T. McClutchie

East Coast, New Zealand's smallest rugby union, captured the hearts of rugby supporters throughout the land with a fairytale run to the final of Division Two of the NPC in 2001. Hawke's Bay led 30–10 with less than 10 minutes to go before East Coast fought back with three tries. Hawke’s Bay hung on to win 30–27.

Community contributions

No comments have been posted about East Coast rugby team, 1933-34

What do you know?