Galatea war memorial hall

Galatea war memorial hall

The Galatea war memorial hall was built by local settlers and opened on 13 June 1952. A memorial flagpole stands on a triangular concrete plinth at the front of the hall.

The hall does not contain a roll of honour, but there is a roll of honour in the former Galatea RSA clubrooms on Te Teko Road nearby (photo not available). This lists the following names: K.M. Allen, D. Adamson, R.G. Bain, W.G.T. Barnett, J.T. Beck, T.G. Cawte, A.G. Beasley, I.M. Coleman, A. Davie, R. Devine, E. Devine, T. J. Fanning, W.G. Gordon, L.H. Goodhue, H. Goodhue, J.W. Horwood, H.G. Howard, P. Jackson, J.G. McGill, F.W. McMahan, F.C. Neville, T.A. Nicholson, E.J. Pevreal, J.H. Ramshaw, J. Ruddick, R.J. Silcock, R.D. Smith, R.J. Terrill, K.C. Voyt and V.H.L. Williams.

Some of these men had moved to the area when farms for ex-servicemen were balloted after the First World War. The Galatea RSA was formed in 1945, but has now wound up its affairs.

See: Alex A. Coates, The Galatea Story, Whakatane, 1980, pp. 84-7; Joyce McDonald, Galatea: Where On Earth Is It? Rotorua, 1980, p. 23.

Community contributions

1 comment has been posted about Galatea war memorial hall

What do you know?

Queenie AtaitiAnonymous

Posted: 15 Sep 2022

I am seeking the history of the present St Marks Prestbyterien Church standing in Murupara believed that it was a hall moved from Galatea about 100 years ago, Can I have some confirmation on this topic thank you.