Skip to main content

Raurimu rugby team in 1907


The Raurimu rugby team which played Ohakune at Kākahi, near Taumarunui, in 1907. The match ended 3-all. The original photo identified the players by their occupation rather than their position in the team. Standing at back, from left: Reidy (foreman), Lawson (fireman), C.J. McKenzie (assistant engineer), ‘Mack’ Hicky (overseer), P. Keller (assistant engraver), Manson (overseer). Kneeling and sitting, from left: Par Clarkin (carting contractor), Frank McKay (schoolteacher), E.G. Beale (chief clerk), John Wood (assistant engineer), Stan Vaile (storekeeper), G.G. Wilson (engineer cadet), Tom O’Brien (clerk) and Harold Hewbell (chairman).

Even after the formation of a national union in 1892, rugby in many parts of the country continued to be a fairly ad hoc affair. An attempt in 1907 to organise a Main Trunk Union was not approved by the NZRFU. In 1922 a King Country Rugby Football Union formed from a number of central North Island sub-unions was affiliated to the NZRFU.


Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: 1/2-043064-F
Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Matauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

How to cite this page

Raurimu rugby team in 1907, URL:, (Manatū Taonga — Ministry for Culture and Heritage), updated