Edgecumbe War Memorial Hall

Memorial sign Memorial sign

Governor-General Sir Willoughby Norrie formally opened the Edgecumbe District War Memorial Hall on 30 January 1956. In addition to the 9,500 square feet hall, tennis courts, a bowling green, croquet lawns and a children’s playground were also planned. The building was damaged by an earthquake in 1987 but was rebuilt and reopened in 1990. The Edgecumbe roll of honour, a bronze tablet set in the wall at the main entrance, lists the names of 13 men who made the supreme sacrifice between 1939 and 1946: R.I. Goldsmith, A.C. McCracken, C.R. Rae, J. McGinley, A.F. McLean, W.L. Rae, J.L. Marshall, E.J. Patterson, S.J. Rye, S. McCauley, J. Pearse, J. Simpson and K.W. Peterson.

See: ‘Edgecumbe War Memorial Hall Opened’, NZ Herald, 1 February 1957; Adrian Muir, Quake Part Two: The Aftermath, Edgecumbe, [1988], pp. 138-40.


Community contributions

1 comment has been posted about Edgecumbe War Memorial Hall

What do you know?

Peter [email protected]

Posted: 19 Jul 2020

Remember Dave Radcliffe and Ian Gow canvassing all the farmers in the district to donate towards building the hall in the early fifties.Pillars of the community both.