Skip to main content


Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
10 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Marupo Marupō Ngāpuhi Te Whānau Rara, Te Whānau Rongo, Matarahurahu, Ngāti Rāhiri, Ngāti Pou Waitangi, 6 February 1840

Note: Marupō signed on two occasions, see the other at Mangungu on 12 February 1840

Marupō was a noted warrior from Kawakawa in the Bay of Islands. He signed He Whakaputanga, the Declaration of Independence, in 1835.

He was at Waitangi on 6 February 1840 and argued vigorously against the Treaty of Waitangi while it was being signed. However, he then signed the treaty, and six days later he did so again at Mangungu in Hokianga, which was now his home.

Marupō was said to be one of the young men under Hōne Heke Pōkai’s control. He may have been on a committee appointed by Te Whakaminenga (the United Tribes, who had signed He Whakaputanga).

In 1867 Marupō was on a Māori committee set up to organise a reception for the Duke of Edinburgh, Prince Alfred, who was due to visit New Zealand. In 1868 he asked that the restrictions on gunpowder be lifted, particularly for ‘sporting’ (hunting) purposes, and suggested a system of regulations.



If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].