Skip to main content


Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
188 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Marama? / Maiapia? Mārama Te Rarawa? Ngāi Takoto? Kaitāia, 28 April 1840

Mārama signed the Treaty of Waitangi on 28 April 1840 at Kaitāia.

As Miria Simpson noted, Mārama is usually a woman's name. This would make her one of an important group of Māori women who signed the Treaty of Waitangi.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].