Skip to main content

Wātene Pātonga

Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
192 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Watene Patonga Wātene Pātonga Kaitāia, 28 April 1840

Wātene Pātonga signed the Treaty of Waitangi on 28 April 1840 at Kaitāia.


If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].