Skip to main content

Te Ngere

Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
21 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Ngere Te Ngere Ngāpuhi Te Urikapana, Ngāti Wai, Te Uri Taniwha? Waitangi, 6 February 1840

Te Ngere was from Whangaruru, on the coast south of the Bay of Islands. He signed the the Declaration of Independence in 1835 and the Treaty of Waitangi on 6 February 1840 at Waitangi.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].