Skip to main content


Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
239 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Kanawa Kanawa Ngāpuhi Te Urikapana, Ngāti Hauata Russell, 5 August 1840

Kanawa signed the Waitangi sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi  on 5 August 1840 at Russell (now Ōkiato). He was a rangatira (chief) from the Te Urikapana and Ngāti Hauata hapū (subtribes) of Ngāpuhi.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].