Skip to main content


Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
73 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Tawatanui Tawatanui Ngāpuhi?, Ngāti Wai? Te Kapotai? Ngāti Tautahi? Te Uri Taniwha? Bay of Islands, Date unknown

Tawatanui signed the Waitangi sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi in the Bay of Islands on an unknown date in 1840. He may have been a rangatira (chief) of the Te Kapotai, Ngāti Tautahi and Te Uri Taniwha hapū (subtribes) of Ngāpuhi, and possibly also belonged to Ngāti Wai.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].