Skip to main content

Te Rawiti

Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
74 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Te Rawiti Te Rāwhiti Ngāpuhi? Te Uri-o-Hua? Bay of Islands, Date unknown

Te Rāwhiti signed the Waitangi sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi at the Bay of Islands on an unknown date in 1840. He may have been a rangatira (chief) of the Te Uri-o-Hua hapū (subtribe) of Ngāpuhi.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].