Skip to main content

Iwikau Te Heuheu Tūkino III

Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
80 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Iwikau Iwikau Te Heuheu Tūkino III Ngāti Tūwharetoa Ngāti Tūrumakina Waitangi, 6 February 1840

Iwikau Te Heuheu signed the Waitangi sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi on 6 February 1840 at Waitangi, although he did not have authority to commit Ngāti Tūwharetoa to the agreement. His brother Mananui disowned his signing later that year, but Iwikau’s signature remained on the treaty.


If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].