Skip to main content

Te Ahiwaru

Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
11 Sheet 6 — The Bay of Plenty (Fedarb) Sheet Hahiwaru Te Ahiwaru Te Whānau-a-Apanui Te Whānau-a-Te Ehutu Te Kaha, 14 June 1840

Te Ahiwaru signed the Bay of Plenty (Fedarb) sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi at Te Kaha on 14 June 1840. He was a rangatira (chief) of the Te Whānau-a-Te Ehutu hapū (subtribe) of Te Whānau-a-Apanui. 

In 1866, Te Ahiwaru led a taua (war party) to Taranaki, with the remainder of Waikato. He was thought to be a nephew of the aged Te Waru. [1]

The claim of Te Ahiwaru and others for the Te Kopua Block was allowed in the Native Lands Court in Kaipara on 21 February 1873. [2]

[1] The Waikatos at TaranakiDaily Southern Cross, 31 December 1866, p. 5

[2] Native Lands Court [Before Judge Monroe], Daily Southern Cross, 24 February 1873, p. 3

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].