Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


SignatureSheetSigned asProbable nameTribeHapūSigning Occasion
100Sheet 8 — The Cook Strait (Henry Williams) SheetNgaraurekauNgā-raurēkauTe Āti Awa?Waikanae 16 May 1840

Ngā-raurēkau signed the Cook Strait (Henry Williams) sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi on 16 May 1840 at Waikanae. He may have been from Te Āti Awa.

In 1860 Riwai te Ahu wrote to the Superintendent of Wellington Province to inform him that Ngā-raurēkau had moved from Waikanae to Waitara to keep possession of it, fearing that Ngāti Maniapoto might return to Taranaki. [1]

[1] ‘III. The Points in Dispute’, The Taranaki Question, Sir William Martin, p. 41


If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].

Community contributions

No comments have been posted about Ngā-raurēkau

What do you know?

Can you tell us more about the information on this page? Perhaps you have a related experience you would like to share?

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Comments will be reviewed prior to posting. Not all comments posted. Tell me more...