Skip to main content


Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
103 Sheet 8 — The Cook Strait (Henry Williams) Sheet Ngapuke Ngāpuke / Ngāpaki Te Āti Awa? Ngāti Raukawa? Waikanae, 16 May 1840

Ngāpuke signed the Cook Strait (Henry Williams) sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi on 16 May 1840 at Waikanae. He was a rangatira (chief) of Te Āti Awa. 

It is possible that this was actually Ngāpaki of Ngāti Raukawa.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].