Skip to main content

Te Wehi

Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
114 Sheet 8 — The Cook Strait (Henry Williams) Sheet Te Wehi Te Wehi Te Āti Awa? Waikanae, 16 May 1840

Te Wehi signed the Cook Strait (Henry Williams) sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi on 16 May 1840 at Waikanae. He may have been from the Te Āti Awa iwi (tribe). Henry Williams, the missionary who witnessed his signature, recorded that he was one of the main rangatira (chiefs) to sign the treaty.

In 1847 he signed the Colonel McCleverty Deed for the Te Aro Block in Wellington. In 1854, Te Wehi Kore signed the sale document for the Te Awaiti and Part of Pahaua Block in Wairarapa.


If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].