Skip to main content

Hōne Pumipi Te Rau

Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
45 Sheet 8 — The Cook Strait (Henry Williams) Sheet Hone Hōne Pumipi Te Rau Te Āti Awa Ngāti Te Whiti, Manukorihi Queen Charlotte Sound, 4-5 May 1840

Hōne Pumipi Te Rau signed Te Tiriti o Waitangi at Queen Charlotte Sound on 4 May 1840.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].