Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


SignatureSheetSigned asProbable nameTribeHapūSigning Occasion
50Sheet 8 — The Cook Strait (Henry Williams) SheetTaukinaPāora TaukinaTe Āti AwaNgāti Rahiri Queen Charlotte Sound 4-5 May 1840

Paora Taukina signed the Cook Strait (Henry Williams) sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi on 5 May 1840 at Queen Charlotte Sound. From Motueka, he was a rangatira (chief) of Ngāti Rāhiri of Te Āti Awa.

He was baptised Pāora (Paul) in 1844. In 1847 Taukina was appointed as an assessor for settling disputes, assisting the Resident Magistrate in Nelson.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].

Community contributions

No comments have been posted about Pāora Taukina

What do you know?

Can you tell us more about the information on this page? Perhaps you have a related experience you would like to share?

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Comments will be reviewed prior to posting. Not all comments posted. Tell me more...