Skip to main content


Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
61 Sheet 8 — The Cook Strait (Henry Williams) Sheet Karaka Ngākaraka Queen Charlotte Sound, 4-5 May 1840

Ngākaraka signed Te Tiriti o Waitangi on 5 May 1840 at Queen Charlotte Sound.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].