He Whakaputanga o te Rangatiratanga o Nu Tirene

On 28 October 1835 at the Waitangi residence of James Busby, 34 chiefs signed He Whakaputanga o te Rangatiratanga o Nu Tirene (known in English as the Declaration of Independence of the United Tribes of New Zealand). By 1839, 18 more chiefs had signed He Whakaputanga, which was acknowledged by the British government. This biography of one of the signatories was originally written for the He Tohu exhibition.

Signing details

Signature number: 
Signed as: 
Probable name: 
Te Aupōuri
1835 residence: 
Tohu (signature): 

Unfortunately, there are few mentions of Māhia in published sources. The Māhia who signed He Whakaputanga sometime between 12 July 1837 and 16 January 1838 was of the Muriwhenua iwi Te Aupōuri, and was based in the Far North. He would have signed during a trip south to Pēwhairangi (the Bay of Islands).

Community contributions

No comments have been posted about Māhia

What do you know?

Can you tell us more about the information on this page? Perhaps you have a related experience you would like to share?

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Comments will be reviewed prior to posting. Not all comments posted. Tell me more...