Te Kauā

He Whakaputanga o te Rangatiratanga o Nu Tirene

On 28 October 1835 at the Waitangi residence of James Busby, 34 chiefs signed He Whakaputanga o te Rangatiratanga o Nu Tirene (known in English as the Declaration of Independence of the United Tribes of New Zealand). By 1839, 18 more chiefs had signed He Whakaputanga, which was acknowledged by the British government. This biography of one of the signatories was originally written for the He Tohu exhibition.

Signing details

Signature number: 
Signed as: 
Probable name: 
Te Kauā
Ngāpuhi, Te Herepaka
1835 residence: 

Unfortunately, there are few references to Te Kauā and his hapū in published sources. Based on those who signed before and after him, he is likely to have been from inland Pēwhairangi (Bay of Islands) – was based at Waimā, and Tāreha had many interests from Kerikeri inland. On 28 October 1835 Te Kauā signed He Whakaputanga with a zigzag-like tohu, and on 6 February 1840 signed Te Tiriti o Waitangi with a similar mark.

Community contributions

No comments have been posted about Te Kauā

What do you know?

Can you tell us more about the information on this page? Perhaps you have a related experience you would like to share?

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Comments will be reviewed prior to posting. Not all comments posted. Tell me more...