He Whakaputanga o te Rangatiratanga o Nu Tirene

On 28 October 1835 at the Waitangi residence of James Busby, 34 chiefs signed He Whakaputanga o te Rangatiratanga o Nu Tirene (known in English as the Declaration of Independence of the United Tribes of New Zealand). By 1839, 18 more chiefs had signed He Whakaputanga, which was acknowledged by the British government. This biography of one of the signatories was originally written for the He Tohu exhibition.

Signing details

Signature number: 
Signed as: 
Probable name: 
Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Wai, Te Whānau Horo, Ngāti Tokawhero
1835 residence: 
Tohu (signature): 

Unfortunately, there are few references to Wharau in published sources. One gives his 1835 residence as Mangakāhia, while another suggests the east-coast harbour of Whangaruru was his home. Te Ngere – who signed He Whakaputanga after Wharau – is also said to be from Whangaruru, which suggests they signed together on 28 October 1835. Interestingly, on 6 February 1840 Wharau and Te Ngere also signed Te Tiriti o Waitangi together – and in the same order.

Community contributions

No comments have been posted about Wharau

What do you know?

Can you tell us more about the information on this page? Perhaps you have a related experience you would like to share?

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Comments will be reviewed prior to posting. Not all comments posted. Tell me more...