Otago Heads, 13 June 1840

Nga Wahi

13 June 1840Sheet 7 — The Herald (Bunbury) Sheet

On 13 June, two Ngāi Tahu rangatira (chiefs) signed the Treaty of Waitangi at Otago Heads. The signatures of Hone Karetai and Kōrako were witnessed by Edward Williams, Thomas Bunbury and William Stewart. As Stewart was well known in the south and familiar with the local dialect, Bunbury relied on him to deal with the chiefs. [1]

Due to their late arrival, they gained only the signatures of chiefs who lived near the harbour entrance. They hoped to gain the signature of Taiaroa, but could not find him.

[1] Ross, 1987, pp. 186-8, in H. Evison, Te Wai Pounamu, 1993, p. 132


Signature Numbersort descending Signed as Probable Name Tribe Hapū
12 John Karitai Hone Karetai Ngāi Tahu Ngāti Ruahikihiki, Ngāi Te Kahukura, Ngāi Tūāhuriri, Ngāti Hinekura
13 Korako Kōrako Ngāi Tahu Ngāi Tūāhuriri, Ngāti Huirapa

Community contributions

No comments have been posted about Otago Heads, 13 June 1840

What do you know?

Can you tell us more about the information on this page? Perhaps you have a related experience you would like to share?

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Comments will be reviewed prior to posting. Not all comments posted. Tell me more...