Skip to main content


Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
13 Sheet 7 — The Herald (Bunbury) Sheet Korako Kōrako Ngāi Tahu Ngāi Tūāhuriri, Ngāti Huirapa Otago Heads, 13 June 1840

Korako signed Te Tiriti at Otago Heads on 13 June 1840. There are several candidates for the identity of this signatory. Hōne Wētere Kōrako and Kōrako Karetai were both senior rangatira living at Pukekura (Taiaroa Head). Hoani Kōrako is another possibility, a rangatira who lived at Waikouaiti and who was very elderly in 1840.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].