Skip to main content

Te Hira

Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
107 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Te Hira Te Hira Te Rarawa? Mangungu, 12 February 1840

Te Hira signed the Treaty of Waitangi on 12 February 1840 at Mangungu, Hokianga. He was probably a Te Rarawa chief from Motu Kiore.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].