Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


SignatureSheetSigned asProbable nameTribeHapūSigning Occasion
11Sheet 1 — The Waitangi SheetTe TaoTe TaoNgāpuhiTe Kai Mata, Te Māhurehure?Waitangi 6 February 1840

Te Tao signed the Declaration of Independence in 1835 and the Treaty of Waitangi on 6 February 1840 at Waitangi. He belonged to the Te Kaimata and possibly the Te Māhurehure hapū (subtribes) of Ngāpuhi.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at

How to cite this page

'Te Tao', URL:, (Ministry for Culture and Heritage), updated 13-Jun-2016

Community contributions

No comments have been posted about Te Tao

What do you know?

Can you tell us more about the information on this page? Perhaps you have a related experience you would like to share?

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Comments will be reviewed prior to posting. Not all comments posted. Tell me more...