Skip to main content


Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
114 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Tira Tiro Ngāpuhi Ngāti Tama, Te Whānau Puku, Te Pōkare Mangungu, 12 February 1840

Tiro signed the Treaty of Waitangi on 12 February 1840 at Mangungu, Hokianga.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].