Skip to main content

Haimona Tauranga

Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
136 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Haimona Tauranga Haimona Tauranga Ngāpuhi Ngāti Tama Mangungu, 12 February 1840

Haimona Tauranga signed the Waitangi sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi on 12 February 1840 at Mangungu in Hokianga. He was from Ngāti Tama and Ngāpuhi.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].