Skip to main content

Tāmati Wāka Nene

Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
17 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Tamati Waka Nene Tāmati Wāka Nene Ngāpuhi Ngāti Hao, Ngāti Miru, Ngāti Pou, Te Roroa Waitangi, 6 February 1840

Tāmati Wāka Nene signed the Waitangi sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi on 6 February 1840 at Waitangi.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].