Skip to main content

Mātenga Paerata

Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
173 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Matenga Paerata Mātenga Paerata Te Rarawa Te Patukoraha Kaitāia, 28 April 1840

Mātenga Paerata signed the Treaty of Waitangi on 28 April 1840 at Kaitāia. Paerata also signed He Whakaputanga – the 1835 Declaration of Independence.

In 1834 he guided the missionary William Gilbert Puckey along Te Ara Wairua, the ‘spirit trail’ to Te Rerenga Wairua (Cape Rēinga) at the top of the North Island.



If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].