Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


SignatureSheetSigned asProbable nameTribeHapūSigning Occasion
219Sheet 1 — The Waitangi SheetRawiri AwarauRāwiri AwarauTe RarawaTe PatukorahaKaitāia 28 April 1840

Rāwiri Awarau signed the Treaty of Waitangi on 28 April 1840 at Kaitāia. A rangatira (chief) from Awanui, he may have belonged to Te Patukoraha and Te Rarawa.

The deed of settlement between the Crown and Ngāi Takoto states (p. 8):

In the nineteenth century, Tuwhakatere’s descendant, Awarau, converted to the Anglican faith and was baptised as Rawiri Awarau, taking the biblical name of David. Awarau was regarded as the last paramount chief of Ngāi Takoto and signed the Treaty of Waitangi at Kaitaia in 1840.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].

Community contributions

1 comment has been posted about Rāwiri Awarau

What do you know?

Can you tell us more about the information on this page? Perhaps you have a related experience you would like to share?

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Comments will be reviewed prior to posting. Not all comments posted. Tell me more...

Alex Rivers

Posted: 12 Nov 2015

He was the rangatira of Ngai Takoto Te iwi