Skip to main content


Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
233 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Ngahuka Ngāhuka Ngāti Pāoa Karaka Bay?, 9 July 1840

Ngāhuka signed the Waitangi sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi on 9 July 1840 in Tāmaki (Auckland), perhaps at Karaka Bay. He was a Ngāti Pāoa rangatira (chief).

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].