Skip to main content

Karaka Bay? signing, 9 July 1840

On 9 July 1840 Lieutenant-Governor William Hobson travelled to Tāmaki (Auckland), perhaps to Karaka Bay, with Captain David Rough, George Clarke (chief protector of aborigines), and Dr John Johnson, the colonial surgeon. Seven signatures were added to the Waitangi sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi on this day. Apart from Te Rangi of Parapuwha, the 29 signatories were all from Ngāti Pāoa of Hauraki, adding to the Ngāti Pāoa rangatira (chiefs) who had signed at Karaka Bay in Waitematā on 4 March.

This meeting, like those held by W.C. Symonds in the same region, aimed to gain the signature of Te Wherowhero, a major rangatira of Waikato who later became the first Māori king. It is uncertain whether this was the second or third meeting with Te Wherowhero. He could not be persuaded to sign, although he did not appear to hold any ill will towards Hobson.

This was the last treaty meeting convened by Hobson. After it, he proclaimed British sovereignty over the whole North Island. In reality, adherence to the treaty in this part of the North Island was far from unanimous.


Signature number Click to sort this column in Ascending order Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapu
231 Karamu Karamū Ngāti Pāoa
232 Kupenga Te Kupenga Ngāti Pāoa
233 Ngahuka Ngāhuka Ngāti Pāoa
234 Te Rangi Te Rangi Ngāpuhi? Parapuwha?
235 Nga Manu Ngāmanu Ngāti Pāoa
236 Raro Manu Raro Manu Ngāti Pāoa
237 Te Hangi Te Hangi Ngāti Pāoa