Skip to main content

Raro Manu

Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
236 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Raro Manu Raro Manu Ngāti Pāoa Karaka Bay?, 9 July 1840

Raro Manu signed the Waitangi sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi on 9 July 1840 in Tāmaki (Auckland), possibly at Karaka Bay. He may have been from Ngāti Pāoa.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].