Skip to main content

Te Matataki

Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
58 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Te Matatahi Te Matataki Ngāpuhi Te Kapotai Waitangi, 6 February 1840

Te Matataki signed the Waitangi sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi on 6 February 1840, at Waitangi. He was a rangatira (chief) of the Te Kapotai hapū (subtribe) of Ngāpuhi.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].