Skip to main content


Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
76 Sheet 1 — The Waitangi Sheet Paraha Paraha Ngāti Wai? Ngāpuhi Ngāti Hine? Bay of Islands, Date unknown

Paraha signed the Waitangi sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi in the Bay of Islands on an unknown date in 1840. He may have been a rangatira (chief) of Ngāti Hine and possibly also of Ngāti Wai.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].