Skip to main content

Te Wairākau

Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
16 Sheet 3 — The Waikato-Manukau Sheet Te Wairakau Te Wairākau Waikato Ngāti Te Ata Waikato Heads, Late March or early April 1840

Te Wairākau signed Te Tiriti at the Waikato Heads mission station in late March or early April 1840. Like Hoana Riutoto, Te Wairākau is said to have been one of the few women to sign the Treaty. She too was an ancestor of Te Puea Hērangi, who led the Waikato opposition to conscription, and established Tūrangawaewae, the seat of the Kīngitanga.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].