Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


SignatureSheetSigned asProbable nameTribeHapūSigning Occasion
16Sheet 3 — The Waikato-Manukau SheetTe WairakauTe WairākauWaikatoNgāti Te AtaWaikato Heads Late March or early April 1840

Te Wairākau signed Te Tiriti at the Waikato Heads mission station in late March or early April 1840. Like Hoana Riutoto, Te Wairākau is said to have been one of the few women to sign the Treaty. She too was an ancestor of Te Puea Hērangi, who led the Waikato opposition to conscription, and established Tūrangawaewae, the seat of the Kīngitanga.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].

Community contributions

No comments have been posted about Te Wairākau

What do you know?

Can you tell us more about the information on this page? Perhaps you have a related experience you would like to share?

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Comments will be reviewed prior to posting. Not all comments posted. Tell me more...