Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


SignatureSheetSigned asProbable nameTribeHapūSigning Occasion
4Sheet 3 — The Waikato-Manukau SheetNgapakaNgāpakaWaikatoNgāti TipāWaikato Heads Late March or early April 1840

Ngāpaka signed the Waikato-Manukau sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi at Waikato Heads, witnessed by Anglican missionaries Robert Maunsell and Benjamin Ashwell. Though the signature is dated 11 April 1840, it is thought that it was added in late March or early April. Ngāpaka was a Ngāti Tīpā rangatira (chief).

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].

Community contributions

No comments have been posted about Ngāpaka

What do you know?

Can you tell us more about the information on this page? Perhaps you have a related experience you would like to share?

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Comments will be reviewed prior to posting. Not all comments posted. Tell me more...