Skip to main content


Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
63 Sheet 8 — The Cook Strait (Henry Williams) Sheet Pari Pari Ngāti Koata Rangitoto, 11 May 1840

Pari was a wahine rangatira (female chief) of Ngāti Koata. She signed Te Tiriti at Rangitoto (D’Urville Island) on 11 May 1840.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].