Skip to main content


Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
13 Sheet 9 — The East Coast Sheet Ko Paia te Rangi Paia-te-rangi Rongowhakaata Ngāti Maru Tūranga, 5-12 May 1840

Paia-te-Rangi signed the East Coast sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi between 5 and 12 May 1840 at Tūranga (now Gisborne). Also known as Wiremu Kīngi Te Paia, Wi Tupaea, and Wi Te Paia, he was a rangatira (chief) of the Ngāti Maru hapū (subtribe) of Rongowhakaata.

Paia-te-Rangi had a full moko (tattoo) that reflected his status as a kaitahutahu-arikinui (paramount chief).

Paia-te-Rangi was one of the Tūranga Hauhau (Pai Mārire followers) who gave themselves up on 30 November 1865. After the murder of Paratene Tūrangi in 1868, he joined Te Kooti out of fear.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].