Skip to main content

Te Panepane

Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
18 Sheet 9 — The East Coast Sheet Te Panepane Te Panepane Te Aitanga-a-Māhaki, Rongowhakaata Tūranga, 5-12 May 1840

Te Panepane signed the East Coast sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi between 5 and 12 May 1840 at Tūranga (now Gisborne). He was a rangatira (chief) of Te Aitanga-a-Māhaki and Rongowhakaata.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].