Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


SignatureSheetSigned asProbable nameTribeHapūSigning Occasion
19Sheet 9 — The East Coast SheetTitirangiRawiri TītīrangiTe Aitanga-a-MahakiNgāti Wahia, Ngāti MatepuTūranga 5-12 May 1840

Rawiri Tītīrangi signed the East Coast sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi between 5 and 12 May 1840 at Tūranga (now Gisborne). He was a rangatira (chief) from Ngāti Wahia and Ngāti Matepu of the Te Aitanga-a-Māhaki iwi (tribe). Rather than signing with a mark or part of his moko (tattoo), Tītīrangi wrote his name.

Tītīrangi was named as one of the owners of the 1,100,000-acre Mangatū No. 1 Block in 1881. In 1893, Tītīrangi’s 1882 Native Land Court certificate for his claim in the Puhatikotiko Block was recognised. He had received £10 in 1882. 

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].

Community contributions

No comments have been posted about Rawiri Tītīrangi

What do you know?

Can you tell us more about the information on this page? Perhaps you have a related experience you would like to share?

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Comments will be reviewed prior to posting. Not all comments posted. Tell me more...