Skip to main content


Nga Tohu

In 1840 more than 500 chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document. Ngā Tohu, when complete, will contain a biographical sketch of each signatory.


Signature Sheet Signed as Probable name Tribe Hapū Signing Occasion
30 Sheet 9 — The East Coast Sheet Tutaepa Tūtāepa Ngāti Porou Whakawhitira Waiapu, 25-31 May 1840

Tūtāepa signed the East Coast sheet of the Treaty of Waitangi between 25 and 31 May 1840 at Whakawhitirā, Waiapu. He was a Ngāti Porou rangatira (chief). This may be William Tūtāepa, a signatory to the sale of the Awanui Block in Poverty Bay in 1872.

If you have more information about this treaty signatory please add a community contribution below or contact us at [email protected].