Regional rugby

  • Regional rugby

    The passion and parochialism of provincial rugby helped give the game a special place in New Zealand’s social and sporting history. Read brief histories, highlights and quirky facts about each of New Zealand's 26 regional rugby teams.

    Read the full article

  • Page 7 - Counties Manukau rugbyHistory and highlights of rugby in the Counties Manukau

Settlement and district 12 km south of Levin and 83 km north of Wellington. It was the first railway station built on the Wellington–Manawatū railway line, completed in 1886. The streets are named after Māori members of Parliament. Horticulture is a long-established activity.

Meaning of place name
Mana: authority, prestige, reputation; kau: alone. When Te Rauparaha invaded Horowhenua, its inhabitants were subdued by reason of his prestige alone and did not resist the invasion.