Skip to main content

NZ units in South Africa 1899-1902

Page 6 – Roll of honour

This roll does not include New Zealanders who served with other forces, or some of those who died from disease. For a more complete roll see: John Crawford and Ellen Ellis, To fight for the empire: an illustrated history of New Zealand and the South African War, 1899-1902.

You can find out more about all the men listed below from the embarkation database and Auckland War Memorial Museum Cenotaph website.


F.Q.M.S. A'Court S.

Lt. Forsythe W. G.

Pte. Partridge W. C. E.

Pte. Allan J.

Pte. Frankham H.

Pte. Paterson J. McI.

L/Cpl. Anderson D.

Pte. Franks G. W.

Pte. Paterson N. L.

Pte. Anderson J. T.

L/Cpl. George P.

Pte. Pearson A. E.

Pte. Anderson T. G.

Pte. Gillies H. C.

Sgt. Pepper W. H.

Pte. Anderson W.

Pte. Goode F.

Pte. Perham L.

Pte. Anslow R. E.

Pte. Goodland W. J.

Pte. Philpott T. H.

Pte. Arden L. H.

Pte. Gorrie K.

Pte. Poole T. W.

Pte. Ashby G.

Sgt. Gourley S. W.

Pte. Raynes W. F.

Pte. Ashmore J. W.

Pte. Harris J.

Sgt. Reid A. McG.

Pte. Atkinson J. B.Pte. Harrison A. H.

Far. Retter L. G.

Pte. Barrar E. R.

Capt. Harvey J. A.

Pte. Roberts J. P.

Dvr. Beck J.

Pte. Hempton T. A.

Pte. Robertson R. M.

Lt. Berry W. J.

Sgt. Henderson S. J.

L/Cpl. Roddick W.

Pte. Best P. C.

Pte. Hichens T. S.

Pte. Rogers P.

Pte. Booth H. J.

Pte. Hurrey I. S.

Lt. Ross A. D.

Pte. Borlase G. N.

Pte. Hyde G.

Pte. Rule H. R.

Pte. Borroughs H.

Pte. Jenks J.

Cpl. Russell A. H.

Pte. Bottom O.

Pte. Jennings W. A.

Sgt. Russell F. M.

Pte. Bourn F.

Pte. James R. V.

Lt. Ryan F. J.

Pte. Bourne C. S.

Pte. Jones J. H.

Pte. Salter J.

Pte. Boyce M.

Cpl. King H.

Pte. Sanson J. W.

Lt. Bradburne H.

Pte. Kirkwood J.

Pte. Saxon J. F. H.

Pte. Bradford G. R.

Pte. Kyle S.

Pte. Scott A.

Sgt. Brock J. H. A.

Pte. Laing R.

Pte. Scott T. L.

Pte. Broome F.

Cpl. Lamont J. R.

Pte. Scott W.

Pte. Brown F. C.

Pte. Lawrence W.

Pte. Simpson G. C.

Gnr. Brown J.

Lt. Leece G.

Pte. Smith C. W.

Pte. Brown V.

Pte. Lehrs P. E. W.

Pte. Smith C. E.

Pte. Bruce D.

Pte. Lines T. P.

Pte. Smith L. E.

Pte. Bruce J.

S/Major Love D. J.

Far. Sgt. Smith R. E.

Cpl. Byrne W.

Pte. Low F. D.

S.M. Smith S.

Cpl. Byrne W. J.

Pte. Macdonald A. H.

Pte. Smith W.

Pte. Caldwell W.

Pte. McDougall S.

Pte. Sorenson J.

Pte. Cameron D. A.

Pte. McIntosh D.

Pte. Stephens B. E. St. J.

Pte. Canty M.

Pte. McIntyre R.

Pte. Stevenson W.

Pte. Clarke D.

Pte. McKay A. H.

Pte. Stock W. H.

Pte. Collins H.

Lt. McKeich R.

Pte. Strawbrigde H.

Pte. Collison H. E.

Far/Sgt McKinney M.

Pte. Tarrant L. M.

Far. Colvin W. C.

Pte. McLean A.

Pte. Tims H. E.

Pte. Connell J.

Pte. McLean R.

L/Cpl. Toswell E. B.

Pte. Corson D. R.

Pte. McLow T.

Capt. Tubman R. G.

Sgt. Cotter J. T.

Pte. Maloney J.

Far. Sgt. Turner O. H.

Pte. Counihan J.

Pte. Manning R.

Lt. Twistleton T. G. H.

Cpl Delabrosse T. L.

Pte. Martin T. C.

L/Cpl. Upton R. H. B.

Pte. Davies W. R.

Pte. Mathews W.

Pte. Walsh L.

Cpl Devereux R.

Pte. Matthews L. S.

Pte. Walters W. P.

Pte. Devine A. H.

Bomb. Mays J. B.

Pte. Ward C. K.

Lt. Dickinson H. L.

Gnr. Moeller J. I.

Pte. Way A. L. H.

Pte. Donkin W.

Pte. Moffatt W. N.

Pte. Whetter W. H.

Pte. Dowson E. J.

Pte. Monihan W. G.

Cpl. Whitehead D. L.

Pte. Drennan T. H. McD.

Sgt. Moore W.

Pte. Whitney A. J.

Pte. Dudley A. W.

Pte. Moore W. J.

Pte. Wiggins C. E.

Sgt. Dungan G. A.

Pte. Morriss R. W.

Pte. Wigmore E. A.

Pte. Dunlop W.Saddler Murphy J.

Pte. Williams H. G.

Pte. Earle W. G.

L/Cpl. Nation P.

Gnr. Withers T.

Cpl. Edwards H. A.

Sgt. Noonan A. R.

Pte. Wookey A.

Pte. Enderby C. H.

Pte. O'Dwyer J.

Pte. Wright J. H.

Pte. Emms E. G.

Pte. Oppenheim H. E.

Sgt. Wylie F. W.

Pte. Farrell J.

Pte. Osborne R.

Pte. Wyllie J.

Pte. Finch H.

Pte. Pahl F.

Pte. Yewdall W.

Cpl. Firth A.

Pte. Palmer E. H.

Pte. Yorke H. M.

Cpl. Forgarty D.Pte. Parkinson C.Pte. Young J. L.

How to cite this page

Roll of honour, URL:, (Manatū Taonga — Ministry for Culture and Heritage), updated